Be the most informed person in the room with Newsy's free e-newsletter

View our privacy policy:

Recall Issued Over Not-So-Gluten-Free Cheerios

General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios due to an error at a production facility that introduced wheat into some products.

General Mills is voluntarily recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios that were labeled as gluten-free but actually may contain wheat. 

The company says all the regular and Honey Nut Cheerios produced in one of its locations over several days were affected. A list of the products affected is available on the Cheerios website. 

The company blames the issue on a mix-up at one of its production facilities. It says wheat flour was accidentally mixed with gluten-free oat flour during transportation. (Video via General Mills)

In a post online, General Mills said it is "embarrassed and sorry" over the error and called it an "isolated" incident. (Video via General Mills)

Gluten-free products have been gaining popularity recently for their health benefits. 

Gluten can cause illness or reactions for people with wheat allergies or celiac disease, which affects about 1 percent of the population, according to the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness

General Mills announced in February the products were going gluten-free by July. Despite the main ingredient in Cheerios being oats, it took the company several years to develop a process that ensured wheat flour wouldn't come in contact with the product. (Video via General Mills)

This video contains images from Getty Images. 

Featured Stories
The Capitol

How Do You Even Plan An Inauguration?

U.S. Air Force B-2 Spirit stealth bomber and airmen

US Airstrikes Destroy ISIS Training Camps In Libya

Sen. Pat Roberts

One Senator To Another: I've Got A Valium Pill Here You Can Take

Want to see more stories like this?
Like Newsy on Facebook for More Company News Coverage