It Will Be Illegal To Smoke In Hawaii If You're Under 21
Lawmakers say the change is meant to deter teenagers from smoking; some say e-cigarettes have become increasingly popular among teens.By Ben Lawson | December 29, 2015
On Friday, Hawaii will become the first U.S. state to raise the legal smoking age to 21.
Once the bill takes effect, if someone under 21 in Hawaii is caught using a tobacco product, it's a $10 fine for the first offense, and $50 every time after that. For store owners caught selling to people under 21, it will cost them at least $500.
Alabama, Alaska, New Jersey and Utah all raised the smoking age to 19, but Hawaii is the first to make it 21.