FDA Bans 4 Types Of 'More Dangerous' Cigarettes

Four types of R.J. Reynolds cigarettes will soon vanish from store shelves following a ruling from the FDA.

The FDA put out the light on four types of cigarettes sold by the R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company Tuesday due to health concerns.

The four cigarettes could be more dangerous than other products like them, according to the FDA. The four cigarettes are Camel Crush Bold, Pall Mall Deep Set Recessed Filter, Pall Mall Deep Set Recessed Filter Menthol and Vantage Tech 13.

The New York Times quotes the director of the Center for Tobacco Products as saying, "These decisions were based on a rigorous, science-based review designed to protect the public from the harms caused by tobacco use."

Scientists with the FDA looked at the possible toxicity, addictiveness and ingredients in these products and deemed them unlike others on the market, meaning they could be more dangerous.

Back in 2009 a law was passed allowing the FDA to reject tobacco products that pose greater risk to the public. 

R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company told NBC News that the company "strongly disagrees" with the FDA's findings, and says the products in question were equivalent to other products out there. 

All retailers will have to take these products off store shelves in 30 days or face fines.

This video includes images from Getty Images. 

Featured Stories
Workers walking on beach

Migrants Are Still Dying As They Cross The Mediterranean

M1/A1 Abrahams tanks.

The World Hasn't Moved This Many Weapons Since The End Of The Cold War

Bao Bao the giant panda

Are Conservation Efforts Really Saving Pandas?

Now Watching
FDA Bans 4 Types Of 'More Dangerous' Cigarettes
Want to see more stories like this?
Like Newsy on Facebook for More Company News Coverage