California Joins Hawaii In Raising The Smoking Age To 21
California joins Hawaii as the second state to require most tobacco buyers to be at least 21 years old instead of 18.By Melissa Prax | May 5, 2016
California will soon require most tobacco buyers to be at least 21 years old, an effort aimed at reducing teenage tobacco use.
On Wednesday, California joined Hawaii as the second state to up the smoking age from 18. It follows a push by several cities in California — like San Francisco and Berkeley — which raised the smoking age earlier this year.
The new laws, which include electronic cigarettes, go into effect June 9. Advocating legislators have called it "the most expansive tobacco control package passed in decades."